Menu

Title

Subtitle

How long does a contractor have to file a lien in Florida?

How long does a contractor have to file a lien in Florida? Visit at- https://www.cweisslaw.com/

A contractor has 90 days from completing work on a property to file a lien in Florida. If the contract was terminated, the contractor has 90 days from the date of termination to file the lien. However, a contractor must also provide a “Notice of Commencement” and post it to the job site no more than 90 days before starting work on the project. Additionally, a subcontractor who is not directly contracted with the owner has 45 days to serve a “Notice to Owner” that notifies the owner and other parties of the subcontractor’s involvement. The property owner can request an affidavit from the subcontractor or general contractor that lists the unpaid services and materials at any time before a lien is filed. The lienor has to provide this information within 30 days of the request.

For more questions about Florida construction lien law, visit our website and read more FAQs at http://www.cweisslaw.com/construction

To discuss your construction law disputes in Florida, contact Christopher Weiss Law at 407-928-6737. Our office is located at 17 N. Summerlin Ave., Ste. 200, Orlando, FL 32801.

Go Back

Comment

Blog Search

Comments

There are currently no blog comments.